Construction of Menin Road

The Menin Road was constructed in 1756 to promote transport and the economy. At the beginning of WWI, the Ypres-Vienna road is still the main connection between the Leie valley and the Westhoek. There is also a tram that connects both cities on a regular basis.

During WW1

Between 1914 and 1918, the road is in the middle of war zone. After fighting near Geluveld, in November 1914 the front runs aground in the castle parks ‘Veldhoek’ and ‘Herenthage’. Those are the woods you see a little further on, towards Ypres. In spring 1915 the front moves even further, beyond Bellewaarde and the hamlet of Hooge.

Positions

From then on, the Germans start building positions. After all, it was likely that a major British offensive would break out here. Between the front line and Geluveld, two positions cross the Menin Road. The second, the Wilhelm position, crosses them here. A branch, the Gheluvelt-Riegel, runs to the Flandern I position near Kruiseke.

Further positions are planned in the direction of Menin. The Menenstraat is important for this construction. Numerous goods were brought in by wagon or over the tram tracks from German occupied territory. As above-ground transport close to the front was dangerous, an underground tunnel was built. In 1917, the ‘Hooge Tunnel’ leaves the castle park Herenthage. The tunnel is 2 km long.

Battle for the Menin Road

In 1917, the British retake that zone as far as this spot. They use the remnants of the Wilhelmstelling as front line. Due to the shelling, the Menin Road is badly damaged. It therefore takes great difficulty to transport troops and equipment across it. In spring 1918, Germans again pushed forward as far as Ypres. It is not until late September that the Germans are finally driven out here.

Practical information:

  • Part of the Geluveld walking route
  • Can be guided

Address information

Menenstraat 163
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Geluveld
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Sites
  • Walking
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Handicapped accessible
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

Cryer Farm Estimated distance: 0.24 Km
Tower Hamlets Estimated distance: 0.34 Km
Breakdown on the road? Bike repair Zonnebeke: Lampaert Estimated distance: 0.61 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

Construction de la route de Menin

La route de Menin a été construite en 1756 pour favoriser le transport et l’économie. Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, la route Ypres-Vienne est encore la principale liaison entre la vallée de la Lys et le Westhoek. Il existe également un tramway qui relie régulièrement les deux villes.

Pendant la première guerre mondiale

Entre 1914 et 1918, la route se trouve en pleine zone de guerre. Après des combats près de Geluveld, le front s’échoue en novembre 1914 dans les parcs des châteaux ‘Veldhoek’ et ‘Herenthage’. Ce sont les bois que vous voyez un peu plus loin, vers Ypres. Au printemps 1915, le front se déplace encore plus loin, au-delà de Bellewaarde et du hameau de Hooge.

Positions

Dès lors, les Allemands commencent à construire des positions. Après tout, il était probable qu’une offensive britannique majeure éclate ici. Entre la ligne de front et Geluveld, deux positions traversent la route de Menin. La seconde, la position de Wilhelm, les croise ici. Une branche, le Gheluvelt-Riegel, mène à la position Flandern I près de Kruiseke.

D’autres positions sont prévues en direction de Menin. La Menenstraat est importante pour cette construction. De nombreuses marchandises ont été acheminées par wagon ou par les voies de tramway depuis les territoires occupés par les Allemands. Le transport en surface à proximité du front étant dangereux, un tunnel souterrain a été construit. En 1917, le « tunnel de Hooge » quitte le parc du château de Herenthage. Le tunnel est long de 2 km.

La bataille de la route de Menin

En 1917, les Britanniques reprennent cette zone jusqu’à cet endroit. Ils utilisent les restes du Wilhelmstelling comme ligne de front. En raison des bombardements, la route de Menin est gravement endommagée. Il est donc très difficile de transporter des troupes et des équipements à travers elle. Au printemps 1918, les Allemands poussent à nouveau jusqu’à Ypres. Ce n’est que fin septembre que les Allemands sont finalement chassés d’ici.

Informations pratiques:

  • Une partie de l’itinéraire de randonnée du Geluveld
  • Peut être guidé

Données d'adresse

Menenstraat 163
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Geluveld
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Sites
  • Walking
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Accessible aux personnes handicapées
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Ferme Cryer Distance estimée: 0.24 Km
Tower Hamlets Distance estimée: 0.34 Km
Une panne sur la route ? Réparation de vélos à Zonnebeke : Lampaert Distance estimée: 0.61 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png