Flandern I-position and Flandern II-position

You may have noticed: the view of Ypres from this spot is breathtaking. This did not escape the Germans either. In early 1917, they started building bunkers here, in front of which rows of barbed wire were placed. The Flandern I position, essentially a bunker line, thus took shape. When battle broke out in mid-1917, this position was still under construction. It runs more or less in a north-south direction. Several ‘Mittelriegels’ and the Flandern II position connect to it.

To the north (on your right) it runs past Westrozebeke and Houthulst as far as Zarren. South it heads towards Broodseinde, past Beselare, Kruiseke and Wervik to across the French border. In fact, only the parts near Passendale, Zonnebeke and Beselare are more or less finished. This is because the Germans knew that the ridge would be of great importance in an attack. They therefore wanted to finish it first. The remaining parts in mid-1917 consisted largely of fake trenches and constructions to deceive the enemy.

Bunkers Tyne Cot Cemetery

The bunkers at Tyne Cot Cemetery are part of the Flandern I position. The higher position provides a perfect defence. During the shelling of 4 October 1917, German troops took cover there. From the holes in the bunker, which are purely for observation, they have a good view of the battlefield. After the bombardment, machine guns are quickly placed on or next to the bunker, after which a rain of bullets inflicts great losses on the approaching troops.

Address information

Longitude: 50.852278162623
Latitude: 3.1153217897527

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Sites
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

Gustave Bourgois mountain bike trail Estimated distance: 6.22 Km
Witches’ walking loop Estimated distance: 6.34 Km
St Martin’s church in Beselare Estimated distance: 6.34 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

La position Flandern I et la position Flandern II

Vous l’avez peut-être remarqué : de cet endroit, la vue sur Ypres est à couper le souffle. Cela n’a pas échappé aux Allemands non plus. Au début de 1917, ils ont commencé à construire des bunkers ici, devant lesquels étaient placées des rangées de barbelés. La position Flandern I, essentiellement une ligne de bunkers, prend ainsi forme. Lorsque la bataille a éclaté à la mi-1917, cette position était encore en construction. Elle est plus ou moins orientée dans le sens nord-sud. Plusieurs « Mittelriegels » et la position Flandern II y sont reliés.

Au nord (sur votre droite), elle passe par Westrozebeke et Houthulst jusqu’à Zarren. Au sud, elle se dirige vers Broodseinde, passe par Beselare, Kruiseke et Wervik pour traverser la frontière française. En fait, seuls les tronçons près de Passendale, Zonnebeke et Beselare sont plus ou moins terminés. En effet, les Allemands savaient que la crête serait d’une grande importance lors d’une attaque. Ils ont donc voulu le terminer en premier. Les parties restantes, au milieu de l’année 1917, consistaient principalement en de fausses tranchées et constructions destinées à tromper l’ennemi.

Cimetière Bunkers Tyne Cot

Les bunkers du cimetière de Tyne Cot font partie de la position Flandern I. La position élevée permet une défense parfaite. Pendant le bombardement du 4 octobre 1917, les troupes allemandes s’y sont réfugiées. Depuis les trous du bunker, qui servent uniquement à l’observation, ils ont une bonne vue sur le champ de bataille. Après le bombardement, les mitrailleuses sont rapidement placées sur ou à côté du bunker, après quoi une pluie de balles inflige de grandes pertes aux troupes qui s’approchent.

Données d'adresse

Longitude: 50.852278162623
Latitude: 3.1153217897527

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Sites
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Piste de VTT Gustave Bourgois Distance estimée: 6.22 Km
Boucle de marche des sorcières Distance estimée: 6.34 Km
L’église St Martin de Beselare Distance estimée: 6.34 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png