A unique empathy project anno 1917

NOTE: THIS WORKSHOP IS TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE

Your group will step into the shoes of a 1917 Australian platoon and follow the bloody trail to CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery. Guided by a historically based narrative, experienced guides will take youngsters aged 14 and over in tow.

After a visit to Passchendaele Museum and an introduction to the events and conditions in which people tried to survive at the front, we set off. Along the old railway bed Ypres-Roulers, we follow a platoon from the 3rd Australian Division during the great attack of 4 October 1917.

Australian unit

All youngsters will be fully dressed and equipped as an Australian unit of the time, including uniform and packs. Naturally, we will deal with the military story of 4 October 1917, but much more important will be the personal involvement. Indeed, each platoon member steps into the shoes of an Australian who was effectively there at the time and walks the same terrain where his predecessor had been 90 years ago. Gradually you get to know more and more of the character and at the end of the day you learn at Tyne Cot Cemetery how your soldier ended up. A sobering confrontation!

Lunch as a soldier

To stay in style, your midday meal consists of a hot Tommy Tucker meal (with corned beef), soldier’s food anno 1917…

Living history

With this project, the Memorial Museum Passchendale 1917 introduces ‘living history’ in Flemish education for the first time. The approach is cross-curricular with – besides history – a lot of attention to landscape, literature, technology and morals. The project itself was realised in close cooperation with the educational services of the Belgian and Australian Veterans’ Institutes and the Municipality of Zonnebeke, which had the former caretaker of the castle specially converted into an educational space for this purpose.

Note: The ‘Platoon Experience’ is not a ‘playing soldier’, but an empathy project for young people to better understand the tragedy of war in general and the Battle of Passchendaele in particular. For groups not behaving in a spirit of remembrance of those who went before us in 1917, the facilitators reserve the right to abort the ‘experience’ at any time.

The daily schedule

We offer a full-day programme with the following options in terms of hours: 9am to 5pm // 9.30am to 5.30pm // 10am to 6pm. The Platoon Experience will not start if the group arrives later than 10.00am without notifying the Memorial Museum Passchendale 1917. Our day includes admission + a guided visit to the Passchendaele Museum. The whole day is educational with two guides.

Practical info

Rates

Price per participant €37 per participant
Price per teacher €8.00 per person for lunch
Guarantee €300 cash for the material material used
In case of damage In the event of damage to – or soiling of – the equipment, the amount due will be deducted from the deposit

Address information

Berten Pilstraat 5a
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Kids & Family
  • WWI

Nearby

The lost stone of Zonnedaele Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
Educational suitcase Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
Soldier in the classroom Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

Un projet unique d’empathie anno 1917

NOTE : CET ATELIER EST TEMPORAIREMENT INDISPONIBLE

Votre groupe se met dans la peau d’un peloton australien de 1917 et suit la piste sanglante jusqu’au cimetière CWGC de Tyne Cot. Sur la base d’un récit historique, des guides expérimentés emmèneront les jeunes à partir de 14 ans.

Après une visite du musée de Passchendaele et une introduction aux événements et aux conditions dans lesquelles les gens ont tenté de survivre au front, nous sommes partis. Le long de l’ancienne voie ferrée Ypres-Roulers, nous suivons un peloton de la 3e division australienne pendant la grande attaque du 4 octobre 1917.

Unité australienne

Tous les jeunes seront entièrement habillés et équipés comme une unité australienne du moment, c’est-à-dire avec l’uniforme et les sacs. Naturellement, nous couvrirons l’histoire militaire du 4 octobre 1917, mais l’implication personnelle sera bien plus importante. En effet, chaque membre du peloton se met dans la peau d’un Australien qui se trouvait effectivement sur place à l’époque et parcourt le même terrain que son prédécesseur il y a 90 ans. Petit à petit, vous apprenez à connaître de plus en plus le personnage et à la fin de la journée, vous apprenez au cimetière de Tyne Cot comment votre soldat a fini. Une confrontation qui donne à réfléchir!

Repas de l’après-midi en tant que soldat

Pour rester tout à fait dans le style, votre repas de midi consistera en un repas chaud Tommy Tucker (avec du corned-beef), la nourriture des soldats anno 1917…

Histoire vivante

Avec ce projet, le Musée Mémorial Passchendale 1917 introduit pour la première fois « l’histoire vivante » dans l’enseignement flamand. L’approche est pluridisciplinaire et, outre l’histoire, elle accorde une grande attention aux paysages, à la littérature, à la technologie et à la moralité. Le projet lui-même a été réalisé en étroite collaboration avec les services éducatifs des instituts des vétérans belges et australiens et la municipalité de Zonnebeke, qui a fait aménager à cet effet l’ancien gardien du château en espace éducatif.

Note : L’expérience du peloton n’est pas un « jeu de soldat », mais un projet d’empathie pour les jeunes afin de mieux comprendre la tragédie de la guerre en général et la bataille de Passchendaele en particulier. Pour les groupes qui ne se comportent pas dans un esprit de commémoration de ceux qui nous ont précédés en 1917, les animateurs se réservent le droit d’interrompre l' »expérience » à tout moment.

L’horaire quotidien

Nous proposons un programme d’une journée complète avec les options suivantes en termes d’horaires : de 9h00 à 17h00 // de 9h30 à 17h30 // de 10h00 à 18h00. L’expérience du peloton ne commencera pas si le groupe arrive plus tard que 10h00 sans en avertir le musée commémoratif Passchendale 1917. Notre journée comprend l’entrée + une visite guidée du musée de Passchendaele. La journée entière est un encadrement pédagogique par deux guides.

Infos pratiques

Tarifs

Prix par participant €37 par participant
Prix par enseignant €8,00 par personne pour le déjeuner
Garantie €300 cash pour le matériel utilisé
En cas de dommage En cas de dommage ou de salissure du matériel, le montant dû sera déduit de la caution.

Données d'adresse

Berten Pilstraat 5a
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Enfants et famille
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE

À proximité

La pierre perdue de Zonnedaele Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
Valise pédagogique Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
Le soldat dans la classe Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png