The Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 presents the historical story of World War I in a moving and vivid way, with a special focus on the Battle of Passchendaele. This 1917 battle is known as one of the most gruesome battles of World War I, with nearly 600,000 casualties for a terrain shift of only eight kilometres. ‘Passchendaele’ not only became a household word in World War I history, it also became a symbol of the great futility of war in all its horror.

The interactive elements throughout the museum set-up ensure that children too are captivated by this piece of history.
The visitor circuit then continues through the unique Dugout Experience. Here, visitors discover how the British went underground in 1917. A haunting experience that paints a disconcerting picture of the miserable and claustrophobic living conditions back then.

Location

The Passchendaele Museum is located in the castle grounds of Zonnebeke, which are in the middle of the former battlefield. Several walking loops and cycling routes connect a network of WWI sites in Greater Zonnebeke. Important links are the Polygon Wood, the many bunkers and the free visitor centre of CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery, the largest Commonwealth cemetery in the world. A 3 km walking loop with thematic info panels takes you from the Passchendaele Museum to this cemetery with nearly 12,000 graves and 35,000 names on the missing persons memorial.

Right next to the museum are the eight Memorial Gardens ‘Remembrance Gardens’ in Passchendaele Memorial Park. From the gardens, you have a nice view of the ‘pou maumahara‘. This 8-metre-high Maori wood sculpture commemorates the New Zealand Māori and other World War I soldiers. In the church tower of Zonnebeke, you can visit the free exhibition ‘Getekend landschap‘. The top floor offers a wide panorama of the surrounding landscape. The church tower is within walking distance of the museum.

Dugout & Trench

The Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 combines the interactive display of a contemporary museum, with the exceptional experiential aspect of the Dugout & Trenches.
The museum section presents an overview of the five battles of Ypres, including the Battle of Passchendaele. Through historical artefacts, authentic letters, posters and other
documents, uniforms of the different armies, video fragments, etc., young and old can get an idea of what life must have been like on and around the battlefields.

The visit concludes with a faithful reconstruction of German and British trenches along which original shelters were built. Taste the frightening feeling that overcame the soldiers when they were ‘trapped’ here. A moving visit that will only enrich your exploration of war sites in the area.

Out and about with Lisa, Louis and Maurice

Those looking for a fun and educational family outing have come to the right place at MMP 1917!

The children can explore with Lisa, Louis and museum rat Maurice. With an audio game, folding map and fun assignments, they will learn more about the Great War in a playful way. Meanwhile, adults follow their own trail at the same pace with an audio guide. Discover together what it was like to live underground, watch the many video clips and film in our cinema room and discover the bunkers in our reconstructed German and British trenches!

Experience. Reflect. Remember.

Practical

  • House rules Passchendaele Museum
  • Rates
  • Open Monday to Sunday from 10am to 5.30pm each time. Last entry at 16h30
  • Museum visit takes about an hour and a half
  • Closed annually from 05 December to 31 January
  • Audio guide included
  • Family-friendly
  • Free parking
  • Can be guided: maximum of 25 people per guide

 

Address information

Berten Pilstraat 5a
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41
[email protected]
passchendaele.be

Facilities

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Historic buildings
  • Museums
  • WWI
  • Audio guide
  • Guided
  • Handicapped accessible
  • Parking
  • Shop/store
  • Toilet
  • Wi-Fi
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

The lost stone of Zonnedaele Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
Educational suitcase Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
The Platoon Experience Estimated distance: 0.00 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

Le Passchendaele Museum 1917 présente l’histoire de la Première Guerre mondiale de manière émouvante et vivante, en mettant l’accent sur la bataille de Passchendaele. Cette bataille de 1917 est connue comme l’une des plus horribles de la Première Guerre mondiale, avec près de 600 000 victimes pour un déplacement de terrain de seulement huit kilomètres. Passchendaele » n’est pas seulement devenu un mot familier dans l’histoire de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais aussi un symbole de la grande futilité de la guerre dans toute son horreur.

Les éléments interactifs présents dans l’ensemble du musée permettent aux enfants d’être eux aussi captivés par ce morceau d’histoire.
Le circuit des visiteurs se poursuit ensuite par l’unique Dugout Experience. Ici, les visiteurs découvrent comment les Britanniques ont pris le maquis en 1917. Une expérience obsédante qui donne une image stupéfiante des conditions de vie misérables et claustrophobes de l’époque.

Localisation

Le musée Passchendaele est situé dans le parc du château de Zonnebeke, qui se trouve au milieu de l’ancien champ de bataille. Plusieurs boucles de marche et pistes cyclables relient un réseau de sites de la Première Guerre mondiale dans l’agglomération de Zonnebeke. Les liens importants sont le bois du Polygone, les nombreux bunkers et le centre de visite gratuit du CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery, le plus grand cimetière du Commonwealth au monde. Une boucle de marche de 3 km avec des panneaux d’information thématiques vous emmène du musée de Passchendaele à ce cimetière comptant près de 12 000 tombes et 35 000 noms sur le mémorial des personnes disparues.

Juste à côté du musée se trouvent les huit jardins du souvenir (Memorial Gardens) du parc commémoratif de Passchendaele. Depuis les jardins, vous avez une vue imprenable sur le « pou maumahara« . Cette sculpture maorie en bois de 8 mètres de haut commémore les Māori de Nouvelle-Zélande et les autres soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale. Dans le clocher de l’église de Zonnebeke, vous pouvez visiter l’exposition gratuite « Getekend landschap« . Le dernier étage offre un large panorama sur le paysage environnant. Le clocher de l’église se trouve à quelques pas du musée.

Dugout & Trench

Le musée commémoratif Passchendaele 1917 combine l’exposition interactive d’un musée contemporain avec l’aspect expérientiel exceptionnel de l’abri et des tranchées.
La section musée présente un aperçu des cinq batailles d’Ypres, y compris la bataille de Passchendaele. Par le biais d’artefacts historiques, de lettres authentiques, d’affiches et d’autres documents de l’UE.
documents, uniformes des différentes armées, fragments vidéo, etc., petits et grands peuvent se faire une idée de ce que devait être la vie sur les champs de bataille et aux alentours.

La visite se termine par une reconstitution fidèle des tranchées allemandes et britanniques le long desquelles les abris d’origine ont été construits. Goûtez au sentiment d’effroi qui a envahi les soldats lorsqu’ils ont été « piégés » ici. Une visite émouvante qui ne pourra qu’enrichir votre exploration des sites de guerre de la région.

Dehors avec Lisa, Louis et Maurice

Ceux qui recherchent une sortie familiale amusante et éducative ont frappé à la bonne porte avec MMP 1917 !

Les enfants peuvent explorer avec Lisa, Louis et Maurice, le rat du musée. Grâce à un jeu audio, une carte pliable et des missions amusantes, ils en apprendront davantage sur la Grande Guerre de manière ludique. Pendant ce temps, les adultes suivent leur propre parcours au même rythme avec un guide audio. Découvrez ensemble ce que c’était de vivre sous terre, regardez les nombreux clips vidéo et films dans notre salle de cinéma et découvrez les bunkers dans nos reconstitutions de tranchées allemandes et britanniques !

Experience. Reflect. Remember.

Pratique

  • Règlement intérieur Musée de Passchendaele
  • Prix
  • Ouvert du lundi au dimanche de 10h à 17h30. Dernière admission à 16h30
  • La visite du musée dure environ une heure et demie
  • Fermeture annuelle du 05 décembre au 31 janvier
  • Guide audio inclus
  • Familiale
  • Parking gratuit
  • Peut être guidé : maximum de 25 personnes par guide.

 

Données d'adresse

Berten Pilstraat 5a
8980 Zonnebeke
België

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41
[email protected]
passchendaele.be

Facilités

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Bâtiments historiques
  • Musées
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Accessible aux personnes handicapées
  • Boutique/Shop
  • Guidé
  • Guide audio
  • Parking
  • Toilette
  • Wi-Fi
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

La pierre perdue de Zonnedaele Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
Valise pédagogique Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
The Platoon Experience Distance estimée: 0.00 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png