The crossing of the railway (Ypres-Roulers railway line) with Schipstraat was named ‘Daring Crossing’ by the British in 1917. A small railway company barracks stood there before the war.

In 1917, the German Flandern I position near ‘Thames Farm‘ crosses the railway line. It then follows the northern railway embankment up to this spot. From here it turns towards Tyne Cot Cemetery. A few posts and headquarters are set up near Seine Farm, at the present greenhouses a little further on.

During the war

On 4 October 1917, the position here was breached by the 3rd Australian Division. The 44th Battalion approaches its objective there behind a barrage. At Daring Crossing, a recognisable point in the mud landscape, the troops realise they have almost reached their objective. Just under 100 metres away, they maintain the front line so that the 41st Battalion can pass and attack, heading for their objective line.

During its advance, the 44th suffers relatively few losses from enemy fire. Under escort, many German prisoners of war are taken away. As the day progresses, distress calls are regularly signalled. As a result, they are often the target of enemy artillery. After a hot meal, the battalion is relieved.

Bunkers

In 2005, almost 90 years later, the foundations of two bunkers at Daring Crossing are uncovered. They were demolished around 1930, consist of three rooms and have an adjacent machine gun post. A trench must have provided the connection between them. Many items are found during the works. A rare cooling boiler, hundreds of shot shells and German equipment pieces come to the surface.

Address information

Longitude: 50.882570891429
Latitude: 2.997742166928

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Passendale
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Walking
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

Go-carts: Casa D&N Estimated distance: 0.44 Km
Tyne Cottage Estimated distance: 0.50 Km
3rd Australian Division Memorial Estimated distance: 0.50 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

Le croisement de la voie ferrée (ligne ferroviaire Ypres-Roulers) avec la Schipstraat a été baptisé  » Daring Crossing  » par les Britanniques en 1917. Une petite caserne de la compagnie ferroviaire s’y trouvait avant la guerre.

En 1917, la position allemande Flandern I près de  » Thames Farm  » traverse la ligne de chemin de fer. Il suit ensuite le talus nord de la voie ferrée jusqu’à cet endroit. De là, il tourne vers le cimetière de Tyne Cot. Quelques postes et quartiers généraux sont installés près de la Ferme de la Seine, aux serres actuelles un peu plus loin.

Pendant la guerre

Le 4 octobre 1917, cette position fut percée par la 3e division australienne. Le 44e bataillon approche son objectif derrière un barrage. À Daring Crossing, un point reconnaissable dans le paysage de boue, les troupes réalisent qu’elles ont presque atteint leur objectif. A un peu moins de 100 mètres, ils maintiennent la ligne de front pour que le 41e bataillon puisse passer et attaquer, en direction de leur ligne d’objectif.

Au cours de son avance, le 44e subit relativement peu de pertes dues au feu ennemi. Sous escorte, de nombreux prisonniers de guerre allemands sont emmenés. Au fil de la journée, des appels de détresse sont régulièrement signalés. Par conséquent, ils sont souvent la cible de l’artillerie ennemie. Après un repas chaud, le bataillon est relevé.

Bunkers

En 2005, près de 90 ans plus tard, les fondations de deux bunkers à Daring Crossing sont mises à jour. Démolies vers 1930, elles sont composées de trois pièces et possèdent un poste de mitrailleuse adjacent. Une tranchée doit avoir fourni la connexion entre eux. De nombreux objets sont trouvés pendant les travaux. Une rare chaudière de refroidissement, des centaines d’obus de chasse et des pièces d’équipement allemandes remontent à la surface.

Données d'adresse

Longitude: 50.882570891429
Latitude: 2.997742166928

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Passendale
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Walking
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Les karts : Casa D&N Distance estimée: 0.44 Km
Tyne Cottage Distance estimée: 0.50 Km
Mémorial de la 3e Division australienne Distance estimée: 0.50 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png