Beecham farmstead: the discovery

We are here at Beecham farmstead. By chance, a dugout was discovered here in 1999 when the occupant was literally sinking through the ground. For safety reasons, the structure was removed. It was carefully examined and measured. A large part was rebuilt at the Museum aan de IJzer in Diksmuide.

A German dugout

There are several indications that the dugout is of German manufacture. For instance, the roof is only two metres below the ground on average. Close to the front, dugouts sit deeper to withstand heavy shelling. Before the Third Battle of Ypres, this is a relatively quiet area.

After New Zealanders take the structure on 4 October, it continues to be used by British troops. There is accommodation for 66 men and four officers. After the war, the farmstead is rebuilt just south of the pre-war buildings, and thus unknowingly on top of the corridor system.

Address information

Longitude: 50.8865683
Latitude: 2.9908079

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Walking
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

3rd Australian Division Memorial Estimated distance: 0.54 Km
Tyne Cottage Estimated distance: 0.55 Km
Canadian Road to Passchendaele Estimated distance: 0.55 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

La ferme Beecham : la découverte

Nous sommes ici à la ferme Beecham. Par hasard, une pirogue a été découverte ici en 1999 alors que son occupant s’enfonçait littéralement dans le sol. Pour des raisons de sécurité, la structure a été retirée. Il a été soigneusement examiné et mesuré. Une grande partie a été reconstruite au Museum aan de IJzer à Diksmuide.

Un abri allemand

Plusieurs éléments indiquent que la pirogue est de fabrication allemande. Par exemple, le toit n’est qu’à deux mètres du sol en moyenne. Près du front, les abris sont plus profonds pour résister aux lourds bombardements. Avant la troisième bataille d’Ypres, c’est une zone relativement calme.

Après la prise de la structure par les Néo-Zélandais le 4 octobre, elle continue à être utilisée par les troupes britanniques. Il y a un logement pour 66 hommes et quatre officiers. Après la guerre, la ferme est reconstruite juste au sud des bâtiments d’avant-guerre, et donc, sans le savoir, au-dessus du système de couloirs.

Données d'adresse

Longitude: 50.8865683
Latitude: 2.9908079

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Zonnebeke
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Walking
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Mémorial de la 3e Division australienne Distance estimée: 0.54 Km
Tyne Cottage Distance estimée: 0.55 Km
La route canadienne vers Passchendaele Distance estimée: 0.55 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png