Railway connection

In an era of industrial progress, a rail link between Ypres and Roeselare was established in the mid-19th century. From 1864, hundreds of men worked for four years for meagre wages on this ‘line 64‘. To realise the railway line, considerable indentations and elevations are made in the sloping landscape. Several stops are planned along the route, including here in Zonnebeke and between Passendale and Moorslede. There will be a stately station building at both places.

During WWI, the railway was particularly important for German troops. It carried material from Roeselare towards the Ypres positions. During the Third Battle of Ypres, the front line moved with difficulty along the railway towards Passchendaele. For the Australians it is their ‘Road to Passchendaele’. It is the only passable road in a totally destroyed mud landscape. It is vital during the Battle of Broodseinde on 4 October 1917. On that day, Australians take the entire area between the station and Tyne Cot.

Abolition of passenger traffic

After the war, the railway proved to be the best option to reach the devastated areas smoothly. Residents, workers and tonnes of materials are transported by it in droves. Eventually, passenger traffic is abolished in 1932 and no trains run from 1970. The tracks are broken up in 1977.

Even though there is no more rail traffic, striking relics of line 64 are still present in the landscape. The large-scale works in which the valleys and hillsides were conquered are still visible today. As is the rebuilt station, which stands opposite. Today, the ‘Stroroute‘, a recently renovated provincial cycle path that leads all the way to Roeselare, departs from here.

Address information

Longitude: 50.874903741454
Latitude: 2.9851988949707

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Passendale
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Walking
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

History Estimated distance: 0.11 Km
Breakdown on the road? Bike repair Zonnebeke: Gheysen Estimated distance: 0.29 Km
The Turning Point Estimated distance: 0.30 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

Connexion ferroviaire

À l’époque du progrès industriel, une liaison ferroviaire entre Ypres et Roulers a été établie au milieu du XIXe siècle. À partir de 1864, des centaines d’hommes ont travaillé pendant quatre ans pour des salaires de misère sur cette « ligne 64« . Pour réaliser la ligne de chemin de fer, des indentations et des élévations considérables sont faites dans le paysage en pente. Plusieurs arrêts sont prévus le long du parcours, notamment ici à Zonnebeke et entre Passendale et Moorslede. Il y aura un bâtiment de gare imposant aux deux endroits.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, le chemin de fer était particulièrement important pour les troupes allemandes. Il transportait du matériel de Roulers vers les positions d’Ypres. Pendant la troisième bataille d’Ypres, la ligne de front se déplace avec difficulté le long de la voie ferrée en direction de Passchendaele. Pour les Australiens, c’est leur  » route vers Passchendaele « . C’est la seule route praticable dans un paysage de boue totalement détruit. Il est vital pendant la bataille de Broodseinde le 4 octobre 1917. Ce jour-là, les Australiens occupent toute la zone entre la gare et Tyne Cot.

Suppression du trafic de passagers

Après la guerre, le chemin de fer s’est avéré être la meilleure option pour atteindre les zones dévastées en douceur. Les habitants, les travailleurs et les tonnes de matériaux y sont transportés en masse. Finalement, le trafic de passagers est supprimé en 1932 et aucun train ne circule à partir de 1970. Les pistes sont réparties en 1977.

Même s’il n’y a plus de trafic ferroviaire, des vestiges frappants de la ligne 64 sont encore présents dans le paysage. Les travaux de grande envergure qui ont permis de conquérir les vallées et les collines sont encore visibles aujourd’hui. Tout comme la gare reconstruite, qui se trouve en face. Aujourd’hui, la « Stroroute« , une piste cyclable provinciale récemment rénovée qui mène jusqu’à Roeselare, part d’ici.

Données d'adresse

Longitude: 50.874903741454
Latitude: 2.9851988949707

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Passendale
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Walking
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Histoire Distance estimée: 0.11 Km
Une panne sur la route ? Réparation de vélos à Zonnebeke : Gheysen Distance estimée: 0.29 Km
Le tournant Distance estimée: 0.30 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png