The ridge between Zonnebeke and Passendale is characterised by steep elevation changes. The railway builders have to make a deep notch to cross the crest. The hamlet near this hollow railway is traditionally called Keerselaarhoek. A stop with that name is provided at Passendale street.

History

In the autumn of 1914, the front runs aground at this spot. French and Germans spent the winter there in miserable conditions. After the Second Battle of Ypres, this railway bed comes to lie far behind the German Ypres front. Between 1915 and 1917, they build some shelters in the northern embankment. Narrow gauge railway lines connect to the Flandern I position. A German cemetery was also established and not disbanded until the 1950s.

Lancashire Fusillier

Up to this spot, Australians manage to take ground on 4 October. They are replaced by the 66th Division, which launches an attack there on 9 October. This fails and the front remains immobile. Many British are killed in the process. So does a Lancashire Fusillier. He is buried in a bomb pit among the tracks.

A pocket Bible is placed on his bashed-in skull after which he is covered with a tarpaulin. He is found here in the summer of 2005 when this authentic piece of railway was uncovered. Despite his very well-preserved belongings, we cannot identify him. All we know is that he was between 18 and 24. He is now buried in Tyne Cot Cemetery.

Address information

Longitude: 50.8875331
Latitude: 3.0091536

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilities

  • Passendale
  • Groups > 15p.
  • Individuals and groups < 15p.
  • Heritage
  • Walking
  • On the move
  • WWI
  • Guided
  • Child-friendly (12 y)
  • Child-friendly (3 y)
  • Child-friendly (7 y)

Nearby

85th Canadian Battalion Memorial Estimated distance: 0.45 Km
Go-carts: Casa D&N Estimated distance: 0.67 Km
Tyne Cottage Estimated distance: 0.75 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png

La crête entre Zonnebeke et Passendale est caractérisée par de fortes variations d’altitude. Les constructeurs de chemin de fer doivent faire une entaille profonde pour franchir la crête. Le hameau situé près de ce chemin de fer creux est traditionnellement appelé Keerselaarhoek. Un arrêt portant ce nom est prévu à la rue Passendale.

Histoire

A l’automne 1914, le front s’échoue à cet endroit. Français et Allemands y ont passé l’hiver dans des conditions misérables. Après la deuxième bataille d’Ypres, cette voie ferrée se retrouve loin derrière le front allemand d’Ypres. Entre 1915 et 1917, ils construisent quelques abris dans le talus nord. Des lignes de chemin de fer à voie étroite se connectent à la position Flandern I. Un cimetière allemand a également été créé et n’a été dissous que dans les années 1950.

Fusillier de Lancashire

Jusqu’à présent, les Australiens ont réussi à prendre pied le 4 octobre. Ils sont remplacés par la 66e division, qui y lance une attaque le 9 octobre. Cela échoue et le front reste immobile. De nombreux Britanniques sont tués dans le processus. Tout comme un Lancashire Fusillier. Il est enterré dans une fosse à bombes parmi les rails.

Une Bible de poche est placée sur son crâne défoncé, puis il est recouvert d’une bâche. On le retrouve ici à l’été 2005, lorsque cet authentique morceau de chemin de fer a été mis au jour. Malgré ses effets personnels très bien conservés, nous ne pouvons pas l’identifier. Tout ce que nous savons, c’est qu’il avait entre 18 et 24 ans. Il est maintenant enterré dans le cimetière de Tyne Cot.

Données d'adresse

Longitude: 50.8875331
Latitude: 3.0091536

T: 0032 (0)51 77 04 41

Facilités

  • Passendale
  • Groupes &gt ; 15p.
  • Individus
  • Patrimoine
  • Walking
  • PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE
  • Se déplacer
  • Guidé
  • Adapté aux enfants (12 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (3 ans)
  • Adapté aux enfants (7 ans)

À proximité

Mémorial du 85e bataillon canadien Distance estimée: 0.45 Km
Les karts : Casa D&N Distance estimée: 0.67 Km
Tyne Cottage Distance estimée: 0.75 Km
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-beek.png
zonnebeke-grafisch-element-zon.png